About Us

About Us

Francis Evans  – President

I am very proud to be the President of Truro Amateur Operatic & Dramatic Society Ltd, after being a member of this highly renowned society for more than 50 years.

The Society has been around for a lot longer, and has a history of performance in Truro since its inception in 1912. Since that time we have presented plays, musicals, operetta, concerts and our own Carolare at Christmas. We are fortunate enough to have our own theatre, Redannick Theatre at Redannick Lane, Truro where we rehearse, build our sets, store costumes and also regularly present plays and musicals.

We also perform regularly at the Hall for Cornwall, Trelissick Gardens and consider ourselves fortunate to perform at the most famous open air theatre in Britain, the Minack Theatre, on the cliffs at Porthcurno.

Truro Amateur Operatic Society Ltd is a society that is made up of a very special group of people of all ages, and from all walks of life, who together excel in anything to do with amateur theatre, whether they be involved either on or off stage. It is encouraging to know that we are described by new members and visitors as “a very friendly group” and I have certainly found this to be the case! I joined the society in 1957 and have been lucky enough to have been stage manager for many productions, principle dancer, chorus member, Chairman, Social Chairman and Theatre Manager. Whatever role I have taken I have always found myself surrounded by the friendship and the camaraderie of lots of very talented people eager to ensure that the society maintains the very high standard that it has achieved.

Whatever talent you are able to offer: dancer, singer, actor, wardrobe, props, set design and building or directing, you will always find a warm welcome awaiting you at Truro Amateur Operatic and Dramatic Society Ltd.


President – Francis Evans
Chairperson – Clive Brown
General Secretary –Cathy Best
Business Manager –
Production Secretary – Tracey Hughes
Treasurer – Ian Joslin
Publicity/Marketing Manager – Jo Downie
Development officer –
Social officer – Tara Willacott
Theatre Manager – Stephen Wasbourne


General Member

David Ivall
Liesel Parris
Peter Smith
Dan Hargreaves
Oriel Bennett

Gift Aid Liaison Officer – John Hughes
Membership Secretary – Margaret Kent
Friends Secretary – Jo Washbourne
Child Protection Officer – Glenn Moses
Asst. Child Protection Officer – Mark Palmer
Theatre Bookings Officer – Oriel Bennet 
RT News Editor – Wendy George